

Executive Committee Meeting
Hybrid (In-Person and Virtual)
Central Carolina Technical College
506 North Guignard Dr.
Building M400, Rm M401
Sumter, SC 29150
Monday August 8, 2022
5:00 PM

MINUTES

Members In-Person

Clarendon County: Julia Nelson, Kevin Johnson

Kershaw County: Sammie Tucker

Sumter County: Jim McCain, Vivian McGhaney, Steve Corley

Lee County: Travis Windham

Zoom

Kershaw County: Alfred Mae Drakeford, Jeffery Graham

Lee County: Will Wheeler

Members Absent/Excused <u>Lee County</u>: Grady Brown (A)

Clarendon County: Dwight Stewart (E)

- 1. Welcome and Call to order: Chairman Julia Nelson called the meeting to order at 5:05 PM.
- 2. Invocation: Mr. Sammie Tucker provided the invocation.
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance: Mr. Tucker lead the pledge and all attendees participated.
- **4. Quorum Determination:** The Board Clerk, Ms. Linda Jackson, informed Chairman Nelson we had reached a quorum with 10 of 12 committee members present.
- 5. Agenda Adoption: Chairman Nelson called for a motion to adopt the agenda. Mr. Tucker made the motion to adopt the agenda and it was seconded by Mr. Jim McCain. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.

- **6. Approval of Previous Minutes:** Chairman Nelson called for a motion to approve the June 6, 2022, meeting minutes. Mr. Tucker made the motion to approve the May 2nd meeting minutes, and it was seconded by Mr. McCain. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.
- 7. Old Business: None.
- 8. New Business
 - a. Reappoint Executive Committee Members with Expired Terms in 2022: Chairman Nelson called for a motion to reappoint the following Executive Committee members: Grady Brown, Jeffery Graham, Will Wheeler, and Steve Corley. Mr. Tucker made the motion to approve the slate of names for reappointment and it was seconded by Mr. McCain. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.
- **9. Executive Directors Search:** Chairman Nelson called for a motion to enter Executive Session to discuss a matter related to the employment of an Executive Director and subsequent contract, in accordance with Section 30-4-70 of the South Carolina Code. Mr. Tucker made motion to enter Executive Session and it was seconded by Mr. Steve Corley. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Nelson called for a motion to exit Executive session. Mr. Tucker made the motion, and it was seconded by Mr. McCain. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Nelson asked if there was any action to be taken from Executive session discussion. Mr. Tucker made a motion that the Board bring their recommendation of Mr. Dennis Cyphers as the new Executive Director and will be informing him on getting a contract signed with attorneys as soon as possible. Mr. McCain seconded the motion. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.

- **10. Executive Directors Report:** None
- 11. Chairman Remarks: None
- **12. Adjourn:** Chairman Nelson called for a motion to adjourn. Mr. McCain made the motion, and it was seconded by Mr. Tucker. All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously.

Submitted by:

Linda Jackson Board Clerk

Approved by:

Areatha Clark

Interim Executive Director

Linda Jackson