

## **RULES OF PROCEDURE**

# ENVIRONMENTAL PLANNING ADVISORY COMMITTEE of the SANTEE-LYNCHES REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

### 1. PURPOSE AND OBJECTIVES

- 1.1 The general objective of the Environmental Planning Advisory Committee (EPAC) (hereinafter "the Committee") is to research and discuss technical environmental issues and present the group's recommendations, when necessary and appropriate, to the Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments Board of Directors.
- 1.2 The purpose of the Committee includes:
  - 1.2.1 To serve as a forum to research, discuss, and study water quality and related environmental issues and concerns affecting South Carolina's Santee-Lynches Region.
  - 1.2.2 To review, study, coordinate, and make recommendations relating to proposed amendments to the Santee-Lynches' Area Water Quality Management Plan (208 WQMP) and to assist SCDHEC as an informed adviser in their implementation of statewide programs and activities as required under the Clean Water Act (CWA).
  - 1.2.3 To recommend regional policies and procedures for inclusion into the Santee-Lynches 208 WQMP in order to help maintain and improve water and related environmental quality in the Santee-Lynches Region.
  - 1.2.4 To serve as a forum accessible to the general public on regional water quality and related environmental issues.

#### 2. MEMBERSHIP

- 2.1 The membership of the Committee shall consist of the following organizational representatives, each holding one (1) vote. Each unit of local government or organization listed shall provide written notice to the Secretary of the identity and contact information of its voting representative to the EPAC as soon as a change of representative is made:
  - 1. Clarendon County (1)
  - 2. Kershaw County (1)
  - 3. Lee County (1)
  - 4. Sumter County (1)
  - 5. City of Bishopville (1)
  - 6. City of Camden (1)
  - 7. City of Manning (1)
  - 8. City of Sumter (1)

#### EPAC RULES OF PROCEDURE



- 9. Town of Lynchburg (1)
- 10. Town of Pinewood (1)
- 11. Town of Summerton (1)
- 12. Town of Turbeville (1)
- 13. Town of Elgin (1)
- 14. Santee-Lynches RCOG Board (Appointed by SLRCOG Chairman) (1)
- 15. Santee-Lynches RCOG Board (Appointed by SLRCOG Chairman) (1)
- 16. Shaw Air Force Base (1)
- 17. Catawba Riverkeeper Foundation (1)
- 18. Central Carolina Technical College (1)

#### Non-Voting Representatives to the Committee

- SC Department of Health and Environmental Control
- SC Department of Natural Resources
- Clemson University Extension
- 2.2 Any changes or additions to the voting members list must be approved by a majority vote of the Committee, with final approval by the Board of SLRCOG.
- 2.3 There are no term limits for membership. Appointments are by position within the local or regional organization represented.

#### 3. OFFICERS

- 3.1 Officers of the EPAC shall consist of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are appointed by the Chairman of the SLRCOG Board, and shall serve two (2) year terms. Terms may be renewed by the Chairman of the SLRCOG Board.
- 3.2 The Chairman shall preside at all meetings and hearings of the Committee.
- 3.3 The Vice-Chairman shall assume the duties of the Chairman in the absence of the Chairman.
- 3.4 In the event of the absence of both the Chairman and Vice-Chairman from a meeting of the Committee, the members present may elect a temporary Chairman for that meeting from Committee members present and proceed with the order of business provided a quorum is present.
- 3.5 The Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments Executive Director shall designate a staff member to serve as the Committee's secretary. The Secretary shall keep the minutes and records of the Committee, report actions as directed, prepare the agenda with the Chairman for regular and special meetings, provide notices of committee meetings and public hearings and facilitate written correspondence from the Committee and other duties normally carried out by a Secretary. The Secretary is not a voting member of the Committee.

#### 4. SUBCOMMITTEES

#### EPAC RULES OF PROCEDURE



4.1 Temporary subcommittees may be appointed by the EPAC to research issues. The subcommittee shall report its findings to the full Committee. With formal receipt and action by the EPAC, upon the subcommittee's report, the subcommittee's specific function is completed.

#### 5. MEETINGS

- 5.1 Regular meetings of the Committee shall be held quarterly or at such time and date as called by the Chairman. More frequent regular meetings may be scheduled as needed to address the business of the committee.
- 5.2 Committee members shall be notified by the Secretary of the time and place of meetings at least seven (7) calendar days in advance of such meetings.
- 5.3 Before the Committee meeting is called to order, the Secretary will notify the Chairman of the presence or absence of a quorum. The Secretary will also notify the Chairman of the presence of any designee representing an EPAC member for that meeting.
- 5.4 A majority of the Committee members (10 of 19) shall constitute a quorum. A meeting may take place without a quorum by decision of the Chairman but no votes may be taken.
- 5.5 All meetings shall be open to the public.
- 5.6 Each member of the Committee shall have one vote; the Chairman shall have the right to vote, but shall vote last in a recorded vote. Voting shall be by voice and shall not be recorded by yeas and nays unless requested by a Committee member.
  - When a Committee member is unable to attend a meeting, their designee may attend on the member's behalf, only if the Secretary is given at least twenty-four (24) hours advance notice in writing. The Designee shall sign-in using their own name under the Committee Member they are representing. Designees may cast votes on behalf of the Committee Member they are representing.
- 5.7 All members are expected to attend regular meetings. Anticipated absences should be reported to the Secretary at least twenty-four (24) hours before the scheduled meeting time. Members may be removed by the Chairman for excessive absenteeism. Excessive absenteeism is defined as missing three (3) consecutive meetings.