

RULES OF PROCEDURE

REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE of the SANTEE-LYNCHES REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

1. PURPOSE AND OBJECTIVES

- 1.1 The general objective of the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC) (hereinafter "the Committee") is to research and discuss technical transportation issues and present the group's recommendations, when necessary and appropriate, to the Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments Board of Directors.
- 1.2 The purpose of the Committee includes:
 - 1.2.1 To serve as a forum to research, discuss, and study transportation and related issues and concerns affecting South Carolina's Santee-Lynches Region.
 - 1.2.2 To review, study, coordinate, and make recommendations relating to proposed amendments to the Santee-Lynches' Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) and to assist SCDOT as an informed adviser in their implementation of statewide programs and activities as required under State and Federal Law.
 - 1.2.3 To recommend regional policies and procedures for inclusion into the Santee-Lynches LRTP in order to help maintain and improve transportation in the Santee-Lynches Region.
 - 1.2.4 To serve as a forum accessible to the general public on regional transportation and related issues.

2. MEMBERSHIP

- 2.1 The membership of the Committee shall consist of the following organizational representatives, each holding one (1) vote. Each entity listed shall provide written notice to the Secretary of the identity and contact information of its voting representative to the RTAC as soon as a change of representative is made:
 - 1. Clarendon County CTC (1)
 - 2. Clarendon County Economic Development (1)
 - 3. Clarendon County Engineer/Public Works (1)
 - 4. Kershaw County CTC (1)
 - 5. Kershaw County Engineer/Public Works (1)
 - 6. Kershaw County Economic Development (1)
 - 7. Lee County CTC (1)
 - 8. Lee County Engineer/Public Works (1)





- 9. TheLink Economic Development Alliance (1)
- 10. Sumter County CTC (1)
- 11. Sumter County Engineer/Public Works (1)
- 12. SUATS Coordinator (1)
- 13. COATS Coordinator (1)
- 14. Shaw Air Force Base (1)
- 15. Santee Wateree RTA (1)
- 16. SLRCOG Board Appointee (Appointed by SLRCOG Chairman) (1)
- 17. SLRCOG Board Appointee (Appointed by SLRCOG Chairman) (1)

Non-Voting Representatives to the Committee

Area Planner, Office of Statewide Planning, SCDOT

Director, Office of Public Transit, SCDOT

Multimodal Planning Manager, Office of Intermodal and Freight Planning, SCDOT

Program Manager, Office of Preconstruction, SCDOT

SCDOT District Manager, District 1 (Kershaw, Lee, Sumter)

SCDOT District Manager, District 7 (Clarendon)

- 2.2 Any changes or additions to the voting members list must be approved by a majority vote of the Committee, with final approval by the Board of SLRCOG.
- 2.3 There are no term limits for membership. Appointments are by position within the organization represented.

3. OFFICERS

- 3.1 Officers of the RTAC shall consist of a Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are appointed by the Chairman of the SLRCOG Board, and shall serve two (2) year terms. Terms may be renewed by the Chairman of the SLRCOG Board.
- 3.2 The Chairman shall preside at all meetings and hearings of the Committee.
- 3.3 The Vice-Chairman shall assume the duties of the Chairman in the absence of the Chairman.
- 3.4 In the event of the absence of both the Chairman and Vice-Chairman from a meeting of the Committee, the members present may elect a temporary Chairman for that meeting from Committee members present and proceed with the order of business provided a quorum is present.
- 3.5 The Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments Executive Director shall designate a staff member to serve as the Committee's secretary. The Secretary shall keep the minutes and records of the Committee, report actions as directed, prepare the agenda with the Chairman for regular and special meetings, provide notices of committee meetings and public hearings and facilitate written correspondence from the Committee and other duties



RTAC RULES OF PROCEDURE

normally carried out by a Secretary. The Secretary is not a voting member of the Committee.

4. SUBCOMMITTEES

4.1 Temporary subcommittees may be appointed by the Committee to research issues. The subcommittee shall report its findings to the full Committee. With formal receipt and action by the Committee, upon the subcommittee's report, the subcommittee's specific function is completed.

5. MEETINGS

- 5.1 Regular meetings of the Committee shall be held biannually or at such time and date as called by the Chairman. More frequent regular meetings may be scheduled as needed to address the business of the committee.
- 5.2 Committee members shall be notified by the Secretary of the time and place of meetings at least seven (7) calendar days in advance of such meetings.
- 5.3 Before the Committee meeting is called to order, the Secretary will notify the Chairman of the presence or absence of a quorum. The Secretary will also notify the Chairman of the presence of any designee representing a Committee member for that meeting.
- 5.4 A majority of the Committee members (9 of 17) shall constitute a quorum. A meeting may take place without a quorum by decision of the Chairman but no votes may be taken.
- 5.5 All meetings shall be open to the public.
- Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Voting shall be by voice and shall not be recorded by yeas and nays unless requested by a Committee member.
 - When a Committee member is unable to attend a meeting, their designee may attend on the member's behalf, only if the Secretary is given at least twenty-four (24) hours advance notice in writing. The Designee shall sign-in using their own name under the Committee Member they are representing. Designees may cast votes on behalf of the Committee Member they are representing.
- 5.7 All members are expected to attend regular meetings. Anticipated absences should be reported to the Secretary at least twenty-four (24) hours before the scheduled meeting time. Members may be removed by the Chairman for excessive absenteeism. Excessive absenteeism is defined as missing three (3) consecutive meetings.