National Awards


National Association of Development Organizations 

The National Association of Development Organizations (NADO) sponsors two annual awards programs to nationally recognize the impressive efforts of regional development organizations. Both awards provide excellent opportunity for members to promote their successes to a national audience and with their regional and local partners. Applicants must be a member of NADO and projects must show substantial quantitative and qualitative results in your region.

The Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments have been a participant in the NADO's awards programs since 2016. In the beginning of 2018, the Santee-Lynches COG has received 9 consecutive awards for their successful completion of services within its (4) county region.   


Aliceann Wohlbruck and Excellence in Regional Transportation Award LOGO


 The Aliceann Wohlbruck NADO Impact Award 

The Aliceann Wohlbruck NADO Impact Award(Formerly the Innovation Award) honors significant advance in community and economic development, including but not limited to small business finance, energy and infrastructure projects, housing and human services, sustainable development, workforce development, and more. 


2018- Tomorrow Together: The City of Manning's Comprehensive Plan 

2018-Beating Blight: Sumter and Camden's Neighborhood Inititative Program 

2019-Getting back the Right Side of Growth: Kershaw County's Black River Road Corridor 

2019- Central Carolina Scholars 
2019-Operation Cool Down 
2020-Virtual Service Delivery and High Performing Center Designation during COVID-19 
2020-Pivoting During a Pandemic 
2020-Breakdown of Silos  

2021-Masks for Class 





The Excellence in Regional Transportation Award 

The Excellence in Regional Transportation Award, a program of NADO's RPO American and the NADO's Research Foundation's Center for Transportation Advancement and Regional Development, recognizes noteworthy projects and practices in rural and small metropolitan transpotation planning, programming, and service delivery.